March 10

Critical – Creative Thinking / Final Grading Period

Monday we begin the final grading period for this school year. Look ahead at what we will be covering on Monday, and review the weekly lesson plans for next week.

Develop – formulate * generate * elaborate

Class Notes may be taken digitally or hand written, using the Cornell system or any other system you prefer. Class notes will be collected at the end of the unit for both completion and accuracy.  All class lectures as well as discussions and vocabulary builder words must be included in your notes. The purpose of taking class note, regardless of the form you take them in, is to develop or improve the quality or substance of your understanding of the material or lesson being taught in class.  Your notes should help you extend or elaborate upon the idea or material taught in order to give it greater significance, meaning, understanding, complexity or strength to the material.

Example of Graphic Note Taking by Mrs. Scales.

IMG_1970

CdIDafDW0AEzvea

IMG_1966

Introduction to The Hero’s Journey unit.

Overview
“Look at me. Stuck on this crappy planet; Aunt and Uncle got burned up like chicken cutlets. What are ya’ gonna do? Me, personally? I’m gonna save the galaxy and make out with my sister.”
— Johnny T as Luke Skywalker, The Hero’s Journey”

Excerpt From: “The Hero’s Journey.” iBooks.

Archetypal

Stages of a Hero’s Journey /  Structure of the Monomyth

Vocabulary Builder Words 

Archetype          Monomyth          Epic

medias res         kenning               caesura

reparation          solace                  purge

writhing             massive               loathsome


Posted March 10, 2016 by mrsscales207 in category Language Arts

About the Author

My life has taken many paths. I grew up in Farmland, Indiana and graduated from Monroe Central High School in 1979. Yes I know that seems like a long time ago to most of you. After I graduated from High School, I went into the U. S. Navy. Not a lot of women enlisted in the Navy back then. Boot camp was still segregated (that means there were only women in my boot camp) and yes, boot camp is as bad as they say it is. I survived though and began seeing a little more of the world than just our lovely corn and soy bean fields of Indiana. I was an advanced avionics technician and worked on F14 Tomcat jets in the Navy. Back then women couldn't go on ships but I was stationed in Bermuda for a little over a year. Bermuda is beautiful and the people are warm and friendly. I married my husband while in the Navy and we eventually moved to Minnesota.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*