April 3

Continuing The Hero’s Journey

Turn Friday’s Homework into the tray prior to the start of class. 

While grading your homework this weekend, I realized that a few of you are still struggling with the elements of compare and contrast. Here is the text book response to the compare and contrast question about Gilgamesh and Beowulf:

Gilgamesh built Uruk and the keeping place for Anu and Ishtar; Beowulf destroyed Grendel and Grendel’s mother. Both accomplished heroic acts for their communities.

For a few extra credit points, leave a comment to this blog post by the end of the day that compares and contrasts this response with the response you turned in. You may even use the notes I wrote on your homework to help you out with this.

Also, let’s talk just a little bit about pronouns. What is a pronoun and why would it not be a good writing strategy to being a written response with a pronoun?

Unit notes will be collected again on Friday (April 8, 2016 by the end of the school day). Please be aware that all of your notes for the unit must be included in one file that you upload to Canvas. This means:

  1. If you did not receive all of your points for any section of notes the first time around, you should have corrected them prior to turning them in for the second time.
  2. You will be graded on the previous four sections being complete, as well as the following new sections for this week – Support, Medieval Romance, Vocabulary, Reading Notes.
  3. You cannot wait until the last minute and simply take pictures of your notes and add the pictures individually to the Canvas assignment.

Support – Site * Justify * Maintain

To support something is to offer evidence, examples, or data in order to illustrate or bolster your claim or conclusion; cite those sources of information that justify your position.IMG_2043IMG_2041

Medieval Romance using Arthurian Legend

Vocabulary Builder Words 

assay adroitly entreated
adjure largesse peril
feigned righteous interred

 

Begin In class read aloud ”from Sir Gawain and the Green Knight


Posted April 3, 2016 by mrsscales207 in category Language Arts

About the Author

My life has taken many paths. I grew up in Farmland, Indiana and graduated from Monroe Central High School in 1979. Yes I know that seems like a long time ago to most of you. After I graduated from High School, I went into the U. S. Navy. Not a lot of women enlisted in the Navy back then. Boot camp was still segregated (that means there were only women in my boot camp) and yes, boot camp is as bad as they say it is. I survived though and began seeing a little more of the world than just our lovely corn and soy bean fields of Indiana. I was an advanced avionics technician and worked on F14 Tomcat jets in the Navy. Back then women couldn't go on ships but I was stationed in Bermuda for a little over a year. Bermuda is beautiful and the people are warm and friendly. I married my husband while in the Navy and we eventually moved to Minnesota.

22 thoughts on “Continuing The Hero’s Journey

  1. Kylee Tackett

    My response and the response that you put on the blog are pretty much the same except that I did not put any specifics. If I would have put that Gilgamesh built the city and the keeping place and that Beowulf killed Grendel and his mother then they would have been about the same.

    Reply
  2. Jacob Feistritzer

    Both my response and the book’s response compare the two subjects, however the book response goes into much more deatil. My response was very vague, even though the information was correct.

    Reply
  3. Alex Herbst

    Both my response and Mrs. Scales’ response contrasted Beowulf and Gilgamesh’s great accomplishments. However, I did not compare their similarities.

    Reply
  4. Nathan Herbst

    My response had the same general idea as the book answer Mrs. Scales provided today. However, it was a lot less specific, as I only wrote that Beowulf and Gilgamesh fought to protect their people from harm. In my answer, I neglected to provide examples of these heroic deeds.

    Reply
  5. Maddy Rogers

    One similarity between my response and the one provided would be both mentioned how protecting the people was a priority to the two. A difference would be I did not provide an obvious yet strong contrast. I did not mention a difference between the two and the one provided shows a major yet obvious difference.

    Reply
  6. Lucas Henson

    Like the example response, my response contrasted the actions of the two men and compared the similarities between how they protected their peoples altogether. Although, in my response I went into greater detail on how each man did different actions and how Beowulf killed monsters to save his community while Gilgamesh performed deeds for them. I did not just use blanket statements.

    Reply
  7. Sammie Strout

    In my response, I didn’t have pronouns. I used he and they instead of Gilgamesh and Beowulf. Also I didn’t have that Gilgamesh built the keeping place of Anu and Ishtar. I only put that the built the walls around the city of Uruk.

    Reply
  8. Elizabeth Lovett

    Your response is much shorter and expels dearly who you are talking about. Mine is much longer, by two lines, and I used two pronouns. One of the is a the beginning of my response. The only thing that our response are alike is that we are comparing what Gilgamesh and Beowulf did for thier people. I compared battles, while you compared building something, battle and accomplishments.

    Reply
  9. Annie

    When I wrote my compare and contrast answer I gave a general similarity but the example gave a specific similarity. I didn’t even give a difference in my answer and the example did. There weren’t many similarities between my answer and the example but we both did give a similarity.

    Reply
  10. Elizabeth Brand

    In my homework I specified the differences between Gilgamesh and Beowulf very well. I gave detail and what they did to benefit their people. I didn’t specify what they both did the same. I could have given more details and facts from both of the stories.

    Reply
  11. Karlie Richman

    The book response and my response to the compare and contrast question have many similarities and differences. Both the responses compared and contrasted the ways in which each heroic man protected their people. Although, my response went into much more detail and gave examples of how the men protected their people. The book response was much more basic and didn’t list examples.

    Reply
  12. Lexi

    My answer and the example are very much alike, they both state that Gilgamesh built Uruk and the keeping place for Anu and Ishtar and also states that Gilgamesh and Beowulf are heroic characters. In contrast, my answer goes on to give more information about Anu and Ishtar and what the two characters do for their people instead of just giving a simpler answer like the example.

    Reply
  13. Skyler

    In my answer I didn’t discuss the differences in Beowulf destroying the monsters, whereas Gilgamesh built things for his people. I just said Gilgamesh built things to help others, and Beowulf fought monsters to protect his people. I basically said the same thing, but I worded it in a different way.

    Reply
  14. Casey Dragoo

    This response is so much more in depth than my reponse. I did not talk about how the differences in the charactors, I just talked about the differences between the readings. I also started my sentences with pronouns and your response did not.

    Reply
  15. Hannah Buchanan

    Comparing and contrasting this response with my response is you go deeper into the stories details. My response is only brief on comparing and contrasting. Both of our responses compare and contrast with Gilgamesh and Beowulf.

    Reply
  16. Mary Katherine Brand

    I started my response with a pronoun. They don’t know who “he” is. Next time I will write down specifically who “he” is so they know who I am talking about.

    Reply
  17. Hayley Thompson

    The books response does not start with a pronoun, which is a difference from my response. I also added alittle more information that was probably not necessary, but we had the same answers. Never use a pronoun!!! To start a well written response. I will not do that again ever.

    Reply
  18. Chandler

    In my respose I said, ” Gilgamesh built Uruk and the keeping place for Anu and Ishtar.” Like the tect book response, I also talked about how both characters heroic events for their people. Although, my response was very similar to the textbook answer it also had a few differences. I included a lot od extra information in my answer that I did not neccesarrily need in my answer. Unlike my answer, the textbook answer is a lot shorter and quicker to the point.

    Reply
  19. Amaya Smith

    I said the same thing about Anu and Ishtar, i just added about Gilgamest buliding onto the moutqinside. I used the pronoun He instead of stating that “he” was gilgamesh.

    Reply
  20. Madelynn Cherry

    Both responses say that Beowulf and Gilgamesh saved their people/accomplished heroic acts. My response had different examples of what Beowulf and Gilgamesh did to save their people/communities than your response did.

    Reply
  21. Jarrett Randolph

    This blog post goes into way more detail than my response did. Also I started out with a pronoun and this blog post did not.

    Reply
  22. Sami Hensley

    My response and the response on the blog post give details proving that Beowulf and Gilgamesh are heroes, even though they have their differences. They both provide specific details of Beowulf and Gilgamesh’s deeds and actions. However, both of them have different examples. My response discusses Gilgamesh restoring shrines, opening passes, and digging wells for his people. As for Beowulf, I wrote about all of the monsters he fought for respect and fame. In the response on the blog, it discusses Gilgamesh’s structures, Uruk and the keeping place for Anu and Ishtar. For Beowulf the post talks about him only defeating Grendel and Grendel’s mother.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*